How to Start a Research Paper Part 5: Outline Template

Standard

#TeacherProblems #Education #Coaching

Back in February, I showed you two popular ways to pre-write for a research paper: the spider web and the flowchart. Today, however, I’m kicking off the month of March with my favorite form of pre-writing altogether: the formal outline.

I’ve taught English for more than 20 years, and over the course of those years, I’ve found the formal outline to be the most effective way to teach pre-writing to students. Granted, you still get an occasional kid who thinks the pre-write is just the essay in a weird format, but most of the kids finally catch on to the purpose and method behind pre-writing when presented with the outline template shown here.

Next week I’ll print an example of an outline that uses this template. If you print and use my templates, handouts, or graphic organizers (available on my Pinterest page), please show your appreciation by liking these images on Facebook, pinning them to your Pinterest pages, and/or tweeting about them.

Outline template shows how to create an outline using a three-point thesis statement

This is Page 2 of my Outline Template. Please visit my Pinterest page to get page 1.

Don’t forget my name: Chelly Wood. In July of 2016 my first YA novel, Sunkissed Sodas, will be published by Reputation Books. You’ll want to make sure your school’s library has a copy. It’s all about a Latina teen who… well, just visit my YouTube channel to see my book trailer, if you’re interested.

Please leave a comment:

