Posting Class Notes from the PNWA Summer Writers’ Conference in Seattle

Standard
PNWA Summer Writers' Conference 2014 in Seattle, WA

Image: iClipart

I attended the Pacific Northwest Writers’ Association’s (PNWA’s) Summer Writers’ Conference in Seattle, in the middle of this month, but I noticed a lot of my writerly-type friends were missing from the conference this year. So I took it upon myself to type up notes in every class I attended, so I can share them with everyone.

I’ll be posting my notes here, on English Emporium, every Monday, until my notes reach their conclusion.

As many of my regular followers have noticed, I tend to keep my blog posts brief, so I may break my class notes into useful chunks, as it seems appropriate.

I’ll be including notes from the class I taught, which a lot of people really wanted to attend even though it was during a big pitch session. That way, if you didn’t get to hear me and my partner in crime–Wendy Kendall–speak, you can take a look at this page to see what we offered.

Our class was called, “How I Caught 37 Tweets in My Web and Blogged Them to Online News.” It taught writers how to use Twitter effectively, how to use their blog’s “Publicize” and scheduling features to help them manage their time, and we explained the differences in user demographics and general purpose/layout of such online venues as Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Tumblr, and YouTube.

For the English teachers and librarians who follow my blog, consider sliding over to my ChellyWood.com website, where I’ll be giving away free YA books starting in August or September. Once my notes on the PNWA conference are done, English Emporium will once again offer my graphic organizers, grammar lesson tips, and free handouts, as it has in the past.

3 responses »

Please leave a comment:

