Six Plus One Traits of Good Writing: Handout for Teacher Feedback

Standard
How to Prepare Students for the Common Core Test in Writing Skills

Image: iClipart

A while back I posted my writing log graphic organizer document. Every time I hand back a graded essay, story, letter, or poem, I offer my students written feedback on the six traits of good writing. They, then, record what I’ve said in a log.

If you’d like a copy of my six traits of good writing form or my writing log, please visit the home page to see instructions.

I have also adapted my six traits of good writing form this year to include the “plus one” feature: presentation.

What I like best about this teacher feedback form is the fact that it doesn’t just focus on problem areas. It also includes a “What you do well” section.

I know, I know… Teachers sometimes get that student who has terrible handwriting, awful grammar, and they can’t tell the difference between an essay and parking ticket. Right? What can you say that’s good about that student’s writing? There’s always something good about a student’s writing; it’s just a matter of finding the right thing to say, to note what they do well. Here’s a list of possible praise phrases to include at the top of your six traits teacher feedback form:

  • You remembered to put a title! Way to go!
  • You’re using margins correctly.
  • You understand how to indent paragraphs. That looks pretty good.
  • You’re using complete sentences in the introduction.
  • Your essay has a conclusion paragraph.
  • You remembered to give this letter a return address.
  • I like the way you say things.
  • I love your sense of humor.
  • You make me smile.
  • Your writing made me feel (fill in the blanks with patriotic, silly, frightened, enthusiastic, etc.) while I was reading it.
  • I especially liked this sentence: (offer a sample from the student’s writing).
Please leave a comment:

