What was Mona Lisa thinking?

Standard

Want some more extra credit? If you submit a comment to this general topic, you can earn as much as ten points of extra credit in Mrs. Sparhawk’s class this week. Here’s the topic…

journal writing prompt on the mona lisa by leonardo da vinci

Image: iClipart

Back in the old days, before there was photography, if a person wanted a picture of themselves, they would pay an artist to paint them. A portrait could take hours, days, or even weeks to finish. What did people think about when they had their portrait painted? What was going through the sitter’s brain while they sat perfectly still with half a smile on their face?

Probably the world’s most famous portrait is the Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci. I’m sure you’ve seen this one, but just in case you haven’t, I’m providing a link to the Wikipedia page where you can see this famous portrait. What do you suppose the lady in this portrait was thinking about while da Vinci painted her? Look deeply into the eyes of the woman in the painting and hypothesize about what went through her mind as she sat. Write an excerpt of thoughts, using the voice of the lady known today as Mona Lisa. Use a stream-of-consciousness to express her views. Want an example? Here’s one:

I think I’ll make Chicken Cordon Bleu for dinner tonight. I’ll need to pick up a fresh chicken from the butcher after I’m done sitting for this portrait. I hope the butcher has fresher meat this time than he had last time. That Coq au Vin that I made last week tasted a little dry. It’s that stupid butcher’s fault, not mine. He needs to butcher the chickens later in the day. Nobody wants a chicken first thing in the morning…

Remember to use good grammar, spelling, and sentence structure. Keep your topic clean and school-appropriate, of course. I look forward to seeing what you come up with this week!

10 responses »

  1. I think Mona Lisa was thinking of what she was going to make for dinner in that picture of herself. When she was about make dinner she remembered that she had an appointment with Leonardo Da Vinci. She was in a hurry because she wanted that portrait really bad for her dining room, so she went to the appointment with her clothes that she wore to cook in.

  2. I think she was thinking, “Will i look good in this picture? Is he a good artist?” If you think about it that might be what she was thinking.

  3. I think Mona Lisa was thinking of what she was going to make for dinner in that picture of herself. When she was about make dinner she remembered her appointment with Lenardo Da Vinci. She was in a hurry because she wanted that potrait really bad for her dining room, so she went to the appointment with her clothes that she was wearing to cook in.

  4. In this picture of Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci.
    What I’m I going to do you after I get painted. Should I go home and do chores or should I go to the park. I think I might go home and do my chores and then I will go to the park or maybe I’ll do more work. Or I should find somewhere for my painting. But what if I look funny and it won’t look good on the wall.

Please leave a comment:

