Desert Island Books… What books would you want to take to a desert island?

Standard

To find out more about our blog, click here please.

In the UK, they have a radio show called, Desert Island Discs. The premise of the show is this: they invite celebrity guests to be interviewed and ask them, “If you were dropped on a deserted island, what three songs would you want to bring with you (i.e. old-fashioned records), so you could listen to them again and again?” Then the celebrity has to tell why they chose those songs.

desert island discs book choices about books

Image: iClipart

So your task this week is similar. Imagine that you find yourself stranded on an island in the South Pacific with no one–no friends or family–to talk to. You’re very fortunate though, because you got to pick three books to bring with you on this dead-end trip. Which three books would you take and why?

To earn all the points, you need to name each book AND tell why you think that book would be a good one to keep reading over and over again, for an indefinite amount of time. You’re welcome to provide links to that book on Amazon or Wikipedia, if you like.

9 responses »

  1. If I was stranded on an island I would take these three books: “Breaking Dawn,” “Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days,” and “The Land of the Lawn Weenies.” I would take “Breaking Dawn,” because it’s my favorite book from the Twilight series. I would take “The Land of the Lawn Weenies,” and Diary of a Wimpy Kid Dog Days,” because they’re funny books.

  2. 1. I would like to read Breaking Dawn. The last part to the Twilight series. I would bring that book because that’s the only book I have not read from that series.

    2. Another book I would like to read would be Heaven is for Real. I have heard that it is a really good book from a lot of different people, so I would like to read it and see if it really is or not.

    3. The last book I would like to read would be another book by J.R.R Tolkien, because when our class read The Hobbit, I found that his writing style is very interesting and I would like to see how he writes his other books.

  3. I would bring with me The Witches by Roald Dahl because it is my all time favorite book and I can read it over and over again. I would also bring The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare because I have read it about 10 times and everytime it gets better and better. I would also bring with me Once Upon a Curse by E.D. Baker because I have read this book so many times I have lost count and I can still read it without getting bored.

  4. Book #1:The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss. I would choose this book because it tells how to survive on a desert island.

    Book #2: Outdoor Survival Skills by Larry Dean Olsen. This book tells true stories about survival experiences and shows the techniques used in them. http://www.badgerstone.com

    Book #3: Great American Short Stories from Hawthorne to Hemingway. I would take this book because it is a large book with many small entertaining stories in it.

  5. I would take:

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows–because it’s like, my favorite book, and I just finished reading it, and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it!

    The Year of Secret Assignments–because it looks really good; I’ve only read about a chapter or two, and it’s really funny, and I’m guessing it’s a good read.

    Twilight–Because it’s my favorite of the entire Twilight series, and it’s WAY better than New Moon, in my opinion. I just think hat the follow up should be better than the first, but it wasn’t to me. So, I could read it over and over and over and over again! (:

  6. 1. I would bring a book from the Rangers apprentice series, becuase its the series im reading and their really good books.
    2. I would bring a Lord of the Rings book, because they have alot of action, and can be really good books.
    3. I would bring a book of Robert Frost’s peoty because he writes really good poetry.

  7. The three books I would take with me would be:
    1. The Bible, because it’s my religion and I would want to read it before I die.

    2. Probably the third book to “The Hunger Games” called Mockingjay because I want to finish the series.

    3. Last, but definetly not least, I would want to take a book called “Three Cups of Tea”. I’ve heard it’s a really good book, and I would enjoy reading it! (=

    • I would keep reading these books over and over again bacause they are either really good, or sound really good!

  8. The books i would bring are:
    1.”The Hunger Games, because i’ve never read it.
    2.”Catching Fire” it would be the second book to go along with “The Hunger Games”
    3.”Pretty Little Liars” because i love the T.V. shows i think i would love the book.

Please leave a comment:

