I have a ton of questions about poetry. Can you answer any of them for me?

Standard

If you’re wondering what our blog is all about, click here for a briefing. If you’re a visitor to our educational/literary blog, feel free to submit a question you’d like me to post, and I will give it serious consideration.

how many stanzas are allowed in a poem?

Image: iClipart

When we started reading poetry, the teacher asked you to write down three questions you still have about poetry. Did she answer those questions for you? If you can find the answer to those questions in your notes, please do the following:

  • repeat the question you asked
  • answer the question using complete sentences

If she didn’t answer those questions over the course of our class, please do the following instead:

  • repeat your question
  • google your question and search the web for an answer
  • summarize what you’ve learned in two to four sentences (do not copy/paste someone else’s words)
  • copy/paste a link to the website(s) where you found the information

Here’s an example of the former (i.e. you asked about something we did learn in class):

  1. My question was, “What type of poems did Shakespeare write?”
  2. According to my notes, William Shakespeare wrote sonnets. A sonnet usually has fourteen rhyming lines that follow a certain rhyme scheme.

Here’s an example of the latter (i.e. something you didn’t learn the answer to during our class):

  1. I’m going to answer the question, “Are American poets better than British poets?”
  2. According to Prof. Brander Matthews of Columbia University (who wrote an article for The New York Times), if you compare 19th Century American poets to 19th Century British poets, there are MORE British than American poets. However, he also thought certain American poems, like “The Night Before Christmas” have greater popularity world-wide. So to summarize, there’s more poetry available from British poets, but it isn’t necessarily better than American poetry.
  3. I found this article at this link to The New York Times: http://query.nytimes.com/mem/archive-free/pdf?res=F20F12F7345813738DDDA80894DA415B828DF1D3
22 responses »

  1. I am looking for a poem called “The Power Within”. The first line is “Like the Rapids of Niagara; I can’t find any information about it.

    • Have you checked goodreads.com? I belong to a poetry group on Goodreads. I bet someone there could help you. If you have an account with Goodreads, you should join a poetry group and ask.

      Sorry I can’t help you further… 😦

  2. My question was “Who are a bunch of different poets?”

    I found out that there are many different poets all over the world in different time periods and eras. Some include:
    William Carlos Williams, Carl Sandburg, Maya Angelou, Ogden Nash, William Shakespeare, and Ezra Pound.

  3. My question is who is a better inaugural poet Robert Frost of Maya Angelou?

    I hink Maya Angelou is, because Robert frost doesnt write poetry like that,he writes more about farm life and nature.

  4. 1. The question I am answering is: “Who are todays poets?”
    2. Some of the poets are: Billy Collins, Kay Ryan, Andrew Hudgens, Mark Strand, John Ashberry, Rita Dove, Anne Carson, Brigid Pegeen Kelly, Tyehimba Jess.
    3. The problem is that most poets famous enough to have agents and be published are busy writing and teaching and lecturing. They are not going to have time to do some random kid’s interview.
    4. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081117140128AA72jkM

  5. My question is how long can a poem be?

    I figured out that it really doesn’t matter how long the poem is.It just depends on the poet if they want their poems to be long or short.

  6. My question was “What are different types of ways (forms) to write poems?”

    I have learned that there are numerous forms of poetry. There are sonnets, odes, free verse, lyrical, ballads, and conventional are some.

  7. My question was “How many sentences does a sonnet have?”

    I figured out that The traditional English sonnet form has 14 lines. And that More typically, modern verse that claims to be a sonnet but does not follow the fourteen line construction having 12 or 16 lines would more accurately be a form of free verse

  8. My question was: “What have I learned about reading poetry with more feeling.”

    I have learned how to read poetry with more feeling by pausing, reading slower, and stopping at punctuation.

  9. My question is How can you put more feeling into poetry when reading it?

    A: You can make pauses where there needs to be pauses, look at sudience, show enotion in your words,and read from th inside out.

  10. My Question is: “How have I learned to put more feeling to reading poetry?”
    The way I put in more feeling in is by pausing for punctuation, making eye contact with the audience, and reading with emotion.

  11. 1. When you are writing free verse do other poet’s use other forms of poetry in their free verse poems.

    answer:
    Poet’s do use other forms of poetry when they are writing free verse. They use rhyming in their poems when it is free verse.

  12. What is the difference between poetry and philosophy?

    In the class I learned that philosophy is an idea or a belief in something, mostly scientific. Poetry is anything someone wants to write about that has lines, stanzas, sometimes rhymes, and tells something that could mean different things.

  13. My question was “Who was the first free verse poet?”

    According to my research it states that the first originates in The Bible and Walt Whitman and comes down through Allen Ginsberg and Robert Bly.

    The link to the page where I gathered my information is below:
    Free Verse Poerty

  14. my question was: “does every poem have to rhyme at the end of every line?”

    answer: no there is such thing as free verse where the poet just writes down anything that he/she wants.

  15. 1. My question was “What is the difference between a metaphor and a similie?”

    2. By having talked about it, I got the feeling that a metaphor used the words “is” or “are” instead of a similie, which used the words “like” or “as”. So a metaphor is saying “She IS this” or “You ARE that”, instead of a similie, saying you are like something. A metaphor is being more serious saying you are that specific thing, instead of being like that.

  16. My question was “How many stanzas are allowed in a poem?”

    I have figured out that it doesnt matter how many stanzas are in a poem, because they dont have to se tradtional poetry.

Please leave a comment:

