#14. Have you ever noticed how music can put you in a certain mood?

Standard
teaching lesson plans tone vs mood in romeo and juliet

Image: iClipart

Well books can do that too. Some songs make me want to laugh out loud. Others make me want to cry.

What kind of mood does your book create for you? Does it make you want to laugh? Does it make you cry? Quote a passage from your book that has elicited a specific emotion from you as reader. Tell how that passage made you feel. Note the page number where that passage can be found.

Explain the overall tone of the book, and compare this to the mood you experienced when reading the quoted passage. Is the book’s overall tone different from the mood projected by that passage?

As you might have guessed, mood and tone are very similar, but not the same. Tone is the author’s attempt to create feelings in the reader. Mood is the reader’s response. To learn more about tone, go back to our old post from a couple of weeks ago (click the link). To learn more about mood, here’s a link in Wikipedia.

Here’s a sample comment you might make for today’s blog post:

  • I’m reading William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.
  • When I read the words “Thus, with a kiss I die,” I was absolutely horrified. I knew that Juliet wasn’t really dead, but Romeo thought she was. So it gave me this awful mood of hopelessness and dread because he wanted to die with her.
  • The overall tone of the book is very thrilling. There are comical moments, like when Mercutio makes fun of his opponent in his famous battle scene. Even as Mercutio stands at death’s door, he makes jokes: “They have made wormsmeat of me!” And yet the tragedy of Mercutio’s death is part of the overall tone as well. Tragedy is in the air. So when we see Romeo outside Juliet’s sepulchre, the audience is horrified, because action, comic moments, and passion have led to this place. It really winds your emotions into a turmoil, setting the stage for the audience’s mood of horrific despair.
  • My mood quote came from page 792 in my book. My tone quote came from page 701.

FYI: The links to songs on YouTube are from the movie, Napoleon Dynamite and Roberta Flack’s “Killing Me Softly With His Song” (the original).

39 responses »

  1. A Christmas Carol BY: Charles Dickens
    the MOOD in my book is almost mean-like because of scrooge being a big meanie but it also has a bit of excitement because you might not know what will happen next. when i read the line: “Scrooge knew he was dead? Of course he did. How could it be otherwise?” i felt sad it was sad that his partner but when i read: “And even Scrooge was not so dreadfully cut up by the sad event.” i felt hurt that he was not giving any sympathy whats so ever. And it made my feel sad that he did not care that his business partner just died.

    the TONE of my book is is intensifying in a way and it is also entertaining it does have its sad moments like when he goes back to the past ans is reunited with his wife it was very heart felt and sad. “His partner lies upon the point of death, I hear; and there he sat alone.”

    QUOTES: mood quotes from pg.1 and tone quotes from pg.55

  2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

    “I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine.” Pg.19
    This gave me an irritated mood because that era focused so much on reputation and style that they appeared uptight. Also it struck me as him being an upper classman that thought a lot of himself.

    “I feel myself called upon by our relationship, and my situation in life, to condole with you on the grievous affliction you are now suffering under…” The tone uses satire to point out someone prejudices. Mr. Collins belives himself to be a higher rank because he assosiates with them. Pg.281

  3. my book is tarzan of the apes by edgar rice burroughs

    tone:”roaring and shrieking the apes dashed toward kulonga but that wary savage was fleeing down the traul like a frightened antelope”

    mood:”though kala was a fierce and ideous ape to tarzan she had been kind she had been beautifulupon her he had lavished uknown to himself all the reverence and respect and love that normal english boy feels for his own mother”

    i found tone on page 75 and mood on 76

  4. I’m reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

    First off, I’m going to give a brief summary of mood.
    Mood(in literature) is the state of emotion that a book creates for an individual. For example, when I read “New Moon” from the Twilight series, some of the mood made me feel like laughing, and some of it made me feel like crying. That is what creates the mood of a book.

    The tone of my book, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, so far is very suspenseful. There are 9 different mysteries in the book total, and in “The Red-Headed League”, it is very suspenseful, yet comical so far because I think that the fat, red-headed man is very silly, and at times very obnoxious.

    (:

    • Amy, please re-do this journal comment to include the following important instructions: Quote a passage from your book that has elicited a specific emotion from you as reader. Tell how that passage made you feel. Note the page number where that passage can be found.

      Thank you.

  5. 1. JANE EYRE by: Charlotte Bronte.
    2. ” ‘Just give me your hand,” he said: “it will not do to risk a fainting fit.’ I put my fingers into his. “Warm and steady,” was his remark: he turned the key and opened the door.” When I read those words it make me smile but at the same dreading what could be behind the door. This gave me this pleased but yet fearful mood.
    3.”This room was chill, because it seldom had a fire; it was silent, because remote from the nursery and kitchens; solemn, because it was known to be seldom entered.” I used to think the tone of the book was very depressing but now that i have read father the overall tone is really is very mysterious it really plays with all your emotions. There are moments that it is sad, some are happy, and others are scary.
    4. My mood quote came from page 238 and my tone quote came from page 9………

  6. • I’m reading John Steinbeck’s The Red Pony
    • When I read the words “The first buzzard sat on the pony’s head and its beak had just risen dripping with dark eye fluid.” I was really disgusted. I knew that the pony was not dead but it gave me the mode that the pony was probably going through excruciating pain.
    • The overall tone of the book is very serious but also can be gruesome. As an example “The blood ran thickly out and up the knife and across Billy’s hand and into his shirt sleeve.” is a very gruesome sentence but it also gives that serious tone too. So the tone and the mood sometimes both give you the same feeling as you can see from the passages from my book. In this case they would both give you that grossed out feeling but they also both you give you a very serious feeling too. So in my book the tone and mood both give the same feelings.
    • My mood quote came from page 35 in my book. My tone quote came from page 31.

  7. Cannery Row by John Steinbeck
    Mood-When I read the words Doc walked quietly down the stairs and into the cellar. Frankie was in the excelsior box burrowed down clear to the bottom, with the pile of excelsior on top of him. Doc could hear him whimpering there. Doc waited for a moment and then went quietly back upstairs I had sorrowful mood because there was nothing that Doc could do for him.
    Tone-The tone of my book is very serious because there hasn’t been a single comical statement that I can recall.2.And then Horace Abeville walking very straight across the lot and passed the cypress tree and across the track and up the chicken walk and into the building that had been his, and he shot himself on a heap of fishmeal.
    I found the mood quote on page 37.
    I found the tone quote on page five.

    • Cannery Row by John Steinbeck
      Mood-When I read the words “Doc walked quietly down the stairs and into the cellar. Frankie was in the excelsior box burrowed down clear to the bottom, with the pile of excelsior on top of him. Doc could hear him whimpering there. Doc waited for a moment and then went quietly back upstairs I had sorrowful mood because there was nothing that Doc could do for him.”
      Tone-The tone of my book is very serious because there hasn’t been a single comical statement that I can recall.2.”And then Horace Abeville walking very straight across the lot and passed the cypress tree and across the track and up the chicken walk and into the building that had been his, and he shot himself on a heap of fishmeal.”
      I found the mood quote on page 37.
      I found the tone quote on page five.

      • Your answer for mood starts with:

        When I read…

        Then you have a quote.

        But what were you trying to say about “mood”? You never finished telling what mood the quote put you in. Please re-do.

      • Cannery Row by John Steinbeck

        Mood-When I read the words, “Doc walked quietly down the stairs and into the cellar. Frankie was in the excelsior box burrowed down clear to the bottom, with the pile of excelsior on top of him. Doc could hear him whimpering there. Doc waited for a moment and then went quietly back upstairs.” I had sorrowful mood because there was nothing that Doc could do for him.

        Tone-The tone of my book is very serious because there hasn’t been a single comical statement that I can recall.”And then Horace Abeville walking very straight across the lot and passed the cypress tree and across the track and up the chicken walk and into the building that had been his, and he shot himself on a heap of fish meal.”
        I found the mood quote on page 37.
        I found the tone quote on page five.

  8. TO KILL A MOCKING BIRD by Harper Lee.

    Mood-“Then I saw a shadow. It was the shadow of a man with a hat on. At first I thought it was a tree, but there was so wind blowing, and tree-trunks never walked. The back porch bathed in moonlight, and the shadow, crisp as toast, moved across the porch toward Jem”. It’s very unusal and sometimes sad and scary.

    Tone-“Don’t you cry, now, Scout… don’t cry now, don’t you worry.” The tone gives sympathy to the reader and somtimes can be blissful.

    Mood found on page 53, and tone is found on page 62

    • Rick: I want you to re-do this one, because you’ve discussed mood like you’re talking about tone. When you say, “It’s very unusual and sometimes sad and scary” you’re making it sound like you’re talking about the book’s TONE, not YOUR reaction (which is mood).

      Once again:
      tone = the book’s ability to make you feel an emotion.
      mood = your emotional reaction to the book.

      • TO KILL A MOCKING BIRD by Harper Lee.

        Mood-”Then I saw a shadow. It was the shadow of a man with a hat on. At first I thought it was a tree, but there was so wind blowing, and tree-trunks never walked. The back porch bathed in moonlight, and the shadow, crisp as toast, moved across the porch toward Jem”. The mood makes you wonder what is going to happen next, and it sorda makes you frightened.

        Tone-”Don’t you cry, now, Scout… don’t cry now, don’t you worry.” The tone gives sympathy to the reader. The overall tone of the book is humorous but depressing.

        Mood found on page 53, and tone is found on page 62

  9. Around the world in 80 days by Jules Gabriel Verne

    “‘This sum will be restored to you upon your release from prison.'”

    Mood)is sad and angry cause they’re locking someone up

    Tone)is serious and commanding and brutal

    • Kevin: I need better explanations for your MOOD and TONE here. Take a look at some of your classmates’ responses please, for explanations. And you need to include a quote for each and a page number where you’ve found the quotes.

    • Around the world in 80 days by Jules Gabriel Verne

      “‘This sum will be restored to you upon your release from prison.’”

      “‘ But let them at least give me back my shoes!'”

      Mood)Mad

      Tone)Makes me mad

  10. 1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
    2. ” ‘Just give me your hand,” he said: “it will not do to risk a fainting fit.’ I put my fingers into his. “Warm and steady,” was his remark: he turned the key and opened the door.” When I read those words it make me smile but at the same dreading what could be behind the door. This gave me this pleased but yet fearful mood.
    3.”This room was chill, because it seldom had a fire; it was silent, because remote from the nursery and kitchens; solemn, because it was known to be seldom entered.” I used to think the tone of the book was very depressing but now that i have read father the overall tone is really is very mysterious it really plays with all your emotions. There are moments that it is sad, some are happy, and others are scary.
    4. My mood quote came from page 238 and my tone quote came from page 9.

    • Autumn: when Mr. Rochester asks Jane to put her hand in his, this is actually a very FLIRTY thing for him to do. Men and women didn’t touch each other in public, back in the early 19th Century. That was a big no-no. So the scene you’ve quoted here has the 19th Century’s version of “sexual tension”–it’s sort of naughty!

  11. •I’m reading Julius Lester’s Othello.
    •When I read the words “’Please send my regards to Emily,’ Desdemona called. ‘Tell her that I am more happy than I dreamed was possible.’ Iago bowed. ‘It will please her to hear that.’ Othello and Iago hugged, and the younger man was off. ” I knew that Desdemona was really happier then she has ever dreamed possible, but when Othello and Iago hugged, it kind of through me off guard, because ever since Othello had been back Iago has been wanting to get rid of him because Desdemona loves Othello and not him. So it gave me this confused mood of happiness and hatred because Desdemona and Othello’s relationship might actually work after all since she said that she is happier than she had ever dreamed possible, but the fact that Othello and Iago hugged, just doesn’t seem right, which is the hatred part of my confused mode.
    •The overall tone of the book is a love story tone. There are certain moments, like what I described in journal #8 “I will wear the black one. It is cut low enough and tightly enough to attract his eye, yet high enough to conceal. Also, the black color will emphasize the paleness of my skin. Do you think he will find me immodest? Say something.” In that sentence she wants his (Othello) eye to catch her which makes it obvious that she like him. The tone and the mood of the passage are similar because love can be confusing (not like I would know though, it’s just what I have heard ), but they are also not similar because the overall tone of this book is a love story tone, but the fact that Othello and Iago dislike each other can turn that around but, in the above passage it says they hug. So it’s love, I guess, but not like weird creepy love.
    •My mood quote came from page 58 in my book. My tone quote came from page 8.

      • I am enjoying the book a whole bunch! 😀 But since this particular book is a shortened version of the real thing, I’m wondering if I would like it better than the book.

      • OMG!!!… the original is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO incredible.

        (Sighs.)

  12. 1. The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
    2. “I therefore thought only of retreating; and with my poor Jack, for whom I was more alarmed than for myself, was proceeding in this way, when unfortunately Turk and Flora ran up to us, and we could see were noticed by the buffaloes. The animals instantly and all together, set up such a roar as to make our nerves tremble.” As I read this the mood was flash of fear running through my body, because I imagined myself as the father, while standing next to a herd of buffaloes as they started a stampede sort of thing.
    3. “We accordingly proceeded to the manufacture of our plates and dishes. I taught my son how to divide the gourd with a bit of string, which would cut more equally than a knife; I tied the string round the middle of the gourd as tight as possible, striking it pretty hard with the handle of my knife, and I drew it tighter and tighter till the gourd fell apart, forming two regular shaped bowls or vessels.” The book has a lot if ingenuity in it, that is the tone. There is scary parts because they are trapped on an island and don’t know what to expect. They do, however make something good about every bad or scary thing that crosses their new life. If you go on reading the passage about the buffalo, the father ends up capturing a young buffalo to train it and killing a full grown one to eat, so the scary part in the book ends up being a useful scary endeavor.
    4. My mood quote came from page 133 and the tone quote came from page 22.

  13. The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom

    “Exactly. And our wise father in heaven knows when we’re going to need things, too. Don’t run out ahead of him, Corrie. When the time comes that some of us will have to die, you will look into your heart and find the strength you need-just in time” – Casper ten Boom

    Mood – The mood is kinda sad, almost scary if you think about what he’s saying.

    Tone – The tone is very sad and forlorn. Getting captured and beat by the Germans? I’d be a little sad to.

    Page – 29

  14. Roots by Alex Haley
    This is the quote that I chose. “Moaning quietly, with his head between his knees, Rheumy eyes clamped tight, he sat limply until his turn came to be cleaned.” This made me feel bad because they had to have other people get the waste off of their bodies. So my mood was sad.
    The tone of this book is very intense and sad. At points in the book it makes the reader feel very bad and sad for the slaves back then. Other points though show the intense adventure that he went through.
    My quote came from page 206. My tone came from page 264.

  15. I’m reading Island Of The Blue dolphins by Scott O’Dell
    “When I picked him up I knew that he was dead”that made me in a sad mood because she was the only indian left on the island now.”I began to feel uneasy”the tone sounds scared and a little sad.I found my mood quote on page 47 and my tone quote is on page 46.

  16. • I am reading Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

    • Mood- When I read “ I hadn’t gone far when I heard Old Dan. What I heard froze the blood in my veins. He wasn’t bawling on the trail or giving the tree bark. It was one, long, continuous cry. In his deep voice there seemed to be a pleading cry for help. Scared, worried, and with my heart beating like a churn dasher, I started toward the sound.” It makes me curious and feel scared because I don’t know what is happening or what is going to happen.

    • Tone- The overall tone of this book I think is serious because the author is basically telling us the childhood of a young boy and his pups. “ No I just don’t want to bet,” I said. The tone he says here is very serious he is not joking.

    • I found the Mood on page 104 and I found Tone on page 112

  17. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

    Mood)When I read these words,”Hi-yi you’re up a stump , ain’t you!” I think of humor. You see the kids see that Tom has to do work on a Saturday (which is when all the kids play) and the kids notice this. They tease him a little then leave. So it gave me this humorous mood.

    Tone)The overall tone of this book is a mixture between humor and adventure. This book is written with a kind of Southern language to it so it sounds funny when they say things. Mark Twain did a great job writing this because he used a language that sounds funny to most people.

    I found both of my answers a page 136.

  18. 1. I’m reading Jane Austen’s EMMA.
    2. MOOD: When I read the words “Miss Smith is a very good sort of girl… and no doubt there are men who might not object to–Everybody has their level: but as for myself, I am not, I think, quite so much at a loss. I need not so totally despair of an equal alliance as to be addressing myself to Miss Smith! No, madam, my visits to Hartfield have been for yourself only; and the encourgement I received–” I was totally like (eyes bugging out) “What’s this guy’s problem?” I’m really disgusted that money is so important to these people. Everyone in this book is concerned about money, even Emma. She wants Harriet Smith to marry someone rich. She doesn’t even care that Harriet likes Mr. Martin, because Mr. Martin’s just a farmer, and Emma doesn’t think that’s good enough for Miss Smith. Emma wants her to marry for money only, and it’s really kind of disgusting. And that’s what Mr. Elton is complaining about here too–he would NEVER marry Miss Smith because she doesn’t have enough MONEY.
    3. TONE: As far as tone goes, I can’t decide if the author is trying to make a political statement about how the English people from this period are all wrapped up in their money, or if she thinks she’s being funny. It almost sounds like Jane Austen is trying to be funny when she says, “…their straightforward emotions left no room for the little zigzags of embarrassment.” So I believe the tone is meant to be funny. I’m just not seeing the humor, because the book was written such a long time ago.
    4. Both of my quotes come from page 103–my mood quote and my tone quote.

    • When the author’s tone is comical, and she’s making a political commentary, that’s called SATIRE. So it’s possible for the tone to be satirical–meaning it’s both political and comedic.

Please leave a comment:

