#9. Step up the pace to finish a classic.

Standard
John Steinbeck Charles Dickens Jane Austen Samuel Clements Mark Twain

Photo: iClipart

Wondering what this blog is all about? We’re a group of students reading works of classic literature and blogging about the experience.

For today’s blog topic, let’s check our progress. Submit a comment that does the following:

  1. State the title and author.
  2. Summarize the plot of the story so far.
  3. Tell (honestly) what page you’re on.
  4. Re-assess your time frame for completing the book.
  5. Set a new goal if you need to.

How many pages per day do you need to get through, in order to finish the book before the end of the quarter? If we start typing our final exam on March 9th, that means we have about 17 more school days left before we need to finish our books (not including weekends).

If you’re not keeping up, step up the pace. Set a new goal for how many pages you need to read each day, in order to finish.

The plan is:

  • On March 7th, Mrs. Sparhawk hands out the final exam.
  • On March 8th we complete the last of our online journals.
  • On March 9th, we begin typing the first draft of our final exams. We get to work on these March 9th, 10th, and 11th.
  • On March 11th, we print our first draft.
  • On March 14th and 15th, we edit in the classroom.
  • On March 16th, 17th, and 18th, we type up the final draft of our final exams.
  • Mrs. Sparhawk collects our final exams on the 18th.

So as of today, we’ve nearly reached the middle of the quarter. Are you half-way through your book yet? If not, you might want to step up the pace to meet the deadline.

30 responses »

  1. I am reading Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
    So far my book is about this guy named (Robinson Crusoe). That gets stranded on a island. And he has to go out in the wilderness to search for food and find a way back home.

    Honestly im on page 124 and i still have about 200-300 more pages to read.
    i may have to start reading amlost constantly to finish the book on time……

  2. The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne

    # There are five men and a dog who have been taken prisoner during the middle of a war. They are being kept in a town that has been captured. Their captors are running low on supplies and can’t get out a message so they decide to make a hot air balloon. When the balloon is built the prisoners hijack it when their captors aren’t looking. The balloon ends up getting caught in a hurricane and finally lands on a deserted island. The castaways (as they are now called) struggle at first to survive but end up making a suttible home on the island (which they have named Lincholn Island). They make many things touse around the island(my favorite thing they make is nitroglycerin, which they use to blow up a nasty part of the island).

    # I’m on page 278
    # I’ve dinking around and haven’t read as fast as I usually do.

    # I should be o.k. if I quit dinking around.

  3. State the title and author.
    Summarize the plot of the story so far.
    Tell (honestly) what page you’re on.
    Re-assess your time frame for completing the book.
    Set a new goal if you need to.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Jane Eyre by:Charlotte Bronte

    Im truly not that far into the book….ao far whats happened is little Jane Eyre lives in this huuuge mansion with her evil aunt and her kids and maids and what not and the aunt seems not to like miss jane soo shes always such a big jerk to her…

    Im on page 26 so far

    I think i need to speed up my reading frame by actually getting caught up and reading my pages at night instead of blowing it off….i knew i wasnt going to doo good at this but im going to do my best noww

  4. I am reading “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee.

    So far, Scout, Dill and Jem are trying to get Mr. Radley(I think that’s who) out of his house, and they are getting in trouble with their father. They are mainly focused on the house right now. And Jem lost his trousers.

    I am on page 59. I’m assuming I need to read about 7-8 pages a day in order to finish before the final exam.

  5. 1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

    2. The plot of my story so far is that there are some sisters looking for a husband. They go to a ball with their mother. Elizabeth, one of the sisters, is sitting down by herself and overhear Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley talking. Mr. Bingley told Mr. Darcy to dance with the beautiful girl behind him, which was Elizabeth. Mr. Darcy implied that she was not pretty enough to dance with. Now Elizabeth and the whole town realizes what a scum Mr Darcy is and never wants his visit again.

    3. I am honestly on page 26

    4. I try to read at least 10 pages a day, I am going to leave my goal.

  6. The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss

    After their shipwreck the family built a raft and floated to land taking only what they desperately needed. After they built a small shelter the father and the oldest son went back to ship and got more supplies. They then started to explore the island and found a great place to build a permanent shelter. The family built a big tree house in a giant fig tree and called it the falcon’s nest. The family then set out to explore and discover more parts and plants on the island.

    I am on page 87. Which means that I need to now read 15 pages a day.

      • I looked at the journal and it did not say anything about doing a quotation from the book in this journal.

      • Okay. I’ll give you credit then. FYI: For the test, I will be requiring QUOTES to prove your thesis. That’s why I’m asking for so many quotes in the journals.

  7. 1.) The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
    by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

    2.) So far, my story is about Holmes interrogating a man with a code name “Count Von Kramm”.

    3.) HONESTLY… I’m around page 15. Ha.

    4.) I told myself that I wouldn’t get behind in this book like I had in Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I fail.

    5.) I don’t know, but I think I need to read about 15 pages a day. I think I might die.

  8. 1. Emma by Jane Austen
    2. PLOT: Emma is trying to hook her friend Harriet up with a guy named Mr. Elton, who I’m thinking is a sort of preacher or something. It’s hard to tell if he likes Harriet or not, but I’m starting to wonder if maybe he likes Emma instead. Mr. Knightly, Emma’s family friend, wanted Harriet to hook up with a farmer named Mr. Martin, but Emma stepped in and busted up that business. Which I think ticked off Mr. Knightly.
    3. I’m on page 70.
    4. I thought I’d be a lot farther than this by now, but it turns out the vocabulary is really hard, so it’s kind of a slow read. Even though I’m liking the story.
    5. I still have 319 more pages to go. CRAP. That’s more than 18 pages a day. So maybe I’ll shoot for 20 pages a day. (GASP)

  9. 1. Around the world in 80 days by Jules Verne
    2. The plot if the story is that Mr.Phileas Fogg and his group of friends from the club discuss about the way transportation has changed during the years and that they believe that the world has gotten smaller and that it doesn’t take as long to travel to the other side of the world and back so Mr.Phileas Fogg bets twenty thousand pounds that he could travel around the world in 80 days or less and make it back before dawn and so he did.
    3. I’m on page 32
    4. My new goal is to read seven pages instead of five

  10. my book is Tarzan of the Apes by edgar rice burroughs

    well so far in my book Alice and Clayton are on a ship then Black Michael came on their boat and kicked them off on a little island and left then Clayton builds a home and then move in while working for his new home he got attacked by a ferocious beast and Alice kills it but then she whent mental and thought she was still in britan and that being stranded is a dream then she has a baby and then a while after she dies then the new gorilla leader invades the little home and kills Clayton im on page 37 chapter 5 and now i need to read around 14 pages a day

  11. A Christmas Carol By Charles Dickens

    ♥the character scrooge is a big old grump that Christmas is here and is mean to any one who is talking about the holiday.

    ♥honestly I’m on page 12 out of 126

    ♥ now i have to read about 6-7 pages a day

  12. 1. My novel is Othello by Julius Lester.
    2. So far in my story Othello has come back to see Desdemona, and they fall in love. Desdemona, Emily, Othello, and Iago all go the the Great Hall. The Great Hall had some tables with big white table cloths on them. They were seated and began to eat. The other people praised Othello is seems like. When he was there, when he ran out of wine, then someone yelled to get him so more. Then they began talking.
    3. I am on page 35.
    4. Now I have to read 116 pages, to finish by the end of the quarter.
    5. My new goal is to read 7 pages a day.

  13. Roots by Alex Haley
    The story Roots is about an African named Kunta Kinte. He grows in a village named Juffure. Kunta lives there leaning life lessons and how to do the work of which his father does. When he is 14 he has to go to a school which teaches him how to become a man. He goes through pain to complete his intense manhood training. When he got back he had learned how to become a man. He ends up getting married to a girl and they attempt to have a child. After that he decides to make a drum. Kunta walked out into the forest to find good wood to use to make his drum. He knows the dangers of being alone in the forest because many people have been taken by white people from other villages. Kunta did not take this very seriously and out of no where the (toubob) also known as the white men came out and started beating Kunta. It takes all their strength to hold Kunta down and capture him. After that he had blacked out and was taken to a slave ship. He has to ride the slave ship all the way over on little slabs where he had to sleep in his own waste. Many people didn’t make it over to the Americas. Kunta ended up being placed in Virginia on a plantation. He has no idea where he is and always is trying to escape. He gets punished for doing this. He gets whipped and beaten for his wrong doings. The third time he ran away he had his foot cut off because he threw a rock at one of the toubob. Then he got set on another plantation and became a gardner because of his foot. He used to be a cotton picker before he ran away. He meets a man that calls himself the fidler because he plays the fidle to make money. Kunta ended up marrying another woman named Bell. He has a kid named Kizzy with her. Then his best friend the fidler buys his freedom from the master for 700 dollars. Kunta is happy for him but also is sad that he has to go. That is as far as I have got.
    3. 434 is the page that i am on.
    4. My new goal is to do about 8 pages a day.

  14. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

    Jane was abused and unloved at her aunts house and was sent to school. She has grown to the age of 18 and is now a governess that is going to Thornfield Hall to teach a young girl named Adela. She just now met Mr. Rochester the owner of Thornfiels while helping him when his horse slippied on a patch of ice.

    I am on page 135, but to be able to finish this book on time I am going to have to read 20 pages a day instead of 15.

  15. The call of The Wild by Jack London

    1.Q: summarize the plot of your book.
    A: My book is about a dog named buck that was a spoiled house dog…until one day when he was kidnapped and put on a boat and shipped to the Canadian wilderness, from that point on Buck was trained to be a sled dog. He got in a fight with his rival Spitz, who he later killed, then they fought off a pack of starving tribe dogs from the near by indian reservation, leaving the dogs wounded and in bad condition. Then they were sold to another team that put them at 14 dogs, the biggest team that has ever been assembled, according to the book this far.
    I am currentaly on page 95 but reading 10 pages a day i dont think i will be able to finish on time so ill read 20-30 pages a day so ill be done by the required time of 17 days

  16. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

    The plot of my story is Tom getting into trouble, showing off to girls, and tricking other people to do his work. This is all he has done pretty much the entire book and I am on page 54. He does tell some adventures making them up in his imagination but other than that he is just a trouble maker. I might up my pages to 15 pages a day cause i have fallen behind kind of so just to be on the safe side.

  17. 1.Island Of The Blue Dolphins by Scott O’ Dell.
    2.The plot of the story is about an indian girl named karanna.She lives on an a island with her tribe.One day her tribe leaves her and her brother on the island.
    3.I am on page 74
    4.I read 4 pages a day sometimes
    5.So Im going to make a new goal and read 12 pages
    5.

  18. 1. The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
    2.So far Jody has got a new red pony and one day he left it outside of the barn and it got sick because it rained. Billy and Jody have had to take care of it and do some weird things to the pony like cut it and let puss run out, steam it, and things like that. Also it ran away and Jody found it surrounded by buzzards but he saved it.
    3. I’m on page 37.
    4/5. My goal has not changed.

  19. 1.Cannery Row by John Steinbeck
    2.It has basically only desribed the setting and characters that will be in the story. Mainly the only major events that have happened are that two people commited suicide and there is a group of people who want to have a party for the character Doc.
    3.I am on page 30
    4.I need to read more like 5-6 pages per day

  20. I think that just because I’ve been a little bit behind(I’m behind by about 2 chapters), I’m going to read about 11 pages per day.

  21. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

    So far, the plot of this story is that a young woman named Corrie Ten Boom, her father, and her sister Betsie help the Jews get away from the Germans and to safe homes.

    I am on page 98.

    To read the entire book in 17 days, I’ll have to read about 15 pages. It’s a lot more than 6 but I think I can finish it in time.

    So my goal is that I’m going to be reading 15 pages every night.

  22. Where the Red Fern Grows. Wilson Rawls.

    So far my story is about a man who helps a dog and then as the dog leaves he starts to tell the story of when he was younger getting dogs. He tells about how much he wanted them, how he raised the money to get them, his journey going into town to get them and having them so far.That is about how far I am in the book.

    I am on page right now but I have not read for this class hour so I will most likely be in the 70’s by the end of the hour if not further.

    I usually read more then 6 pages a day anyway so I’m just going to leave my goal as is.

  23. well i see how under the subtitle of “The Plan is” you said that we get three days to type our final exam and you said that last time to, but instead we only got one day. And we even had a sub and you didn’t tell us that we were going to do the final that day for the people that had it on a flash drive! Just saying!(:

Please leave a comment:

