General Topics #3: Book Burning Aliens Take Over the Earth!

Standard
books to read before i die

Image: iClipart

Imagine an alien race is coming to earth. They will reach our solar system in exactly one year’s time. They plan to take over the whole planet and colonize it, forcing us to live as they do.

But sadly, they believe books are bad. EVIL! Once they reach the earth, they plan to destroy every book we have! That gives you only one year to read all the books you want to. Let’s say you’re capable of reading about five different books in a year. What five would you choose and why would you choose those?

As long as they name an actual title and give a detailed explanation for why they picked each book, Mrs. Sparhawk’s students can earn five points of extra credit for answering this one (but visitors to this site are welcome to participate too). You can choose books you’ve never read or books you wish to re-read, or both.

Browse through other people’s responses too. It might give you some ideas about what books to check out for the holidays!

9 responses »

  1. 1,2,3. The Lord of the Rings Series (three books) By J.R.R. Tolkien
    Reason: I have heard that they were very good and I like the author’s style of writing in The Hobbit.

    4. John Adams By David McCullough
    Reason: To learn about our country’s history before it is destroyed.

    5. Papillon By Henri Charriere
    Reason: I have heard it is a very good autobiography of a man falsely accused of murder.

  2. The five books I would read are:

    *1. The Bible
    Why: Because I would like to learn more about the things that occur in it, and it’s the most life changing book in the world.

    *2. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
    Why: Because a lot of people say it’s a really good series and I read the first one. It was pretty good, so I bet the others would be to!

    *3. The Hunger Games by Suzanna Collins
    Why: Everyone says it’s a good book, and it has a good title to it too!

    *4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Roirdan
    Why: I watched the movie, and it was really cool! Also, I started reading the book at the end of 7th grade, but never finished, and the beginning of the book was addicting!

    *5. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen
    Why: Because Sarah Dessen is a GREAT author, and I read a lot of her books. Their very detailed and fun. Her books are like little movies in your head and I think Along for the Ride would be a great one!(:

  3. I will pick these books:
    1.The Bilbia, so I can learn more about my religoun.
    2.How to learn Latin, cause I would like to speak a different language.
    3.Clifford, beacause I like Clifford.
    4.Goal!, cause its a good book and good movie.
    5.Harry Potter, cause its fun to read.

  4. The five books that I would read are:
    Shiver, because I started reading it, and it was terrific! But, I never completed it. It started so amazingly amazing, ugh. I like the Twilight books too, but I liked this one more than those, even into the first chapter.

    I would also re-read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, just because I LOVED IT. It was my favorite out of all the Harry Potters, because it’s got more action packed into it than I could’ve imagined there to be before reading it! It was also my favorite of the movies, and I really enjoyed it.

    I would finish reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I’m reading it now. (: It’s really good, but I’m not very far into it, so I can’t really explain what’s going on…

    Number four would be The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks♥ I saw the movie, and it was so good! So I think that more of Sparks’ books that I’ve read(The Notebook, A Walk to Remember) were better than the movies were, so I really would read that one.

    Also by Nicholas Sparks, my fifth choice would be to re-read Dear John. It was sooooo amazing, I died. Twice. And that’s all I have to say about it.

    THE END okay bye(:

  5. THE FIVE BOOKS
    1. The River by: Gary pualsen
    2. The Lightnig Theif by: Rick Roidon
    3. The Hatchet by:Gary Paulsen
    4. Narnia Prince Caspian by: ???
    5. The Giver by: ???
    And those are the five books i would read

      • ……..be quiet, matthew(: bahaha, juuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuust kidding. but don’t diss meh. (: hehe, but no. i hadn’t realized you’d written the exact. same. thing.

        ………..be quiet ok ok byeeee baller!! 😀

Please leave a comment:

